My first-ever meme!

For this blog, anyway.

 

My buddy Vincent Jorgersen tagged me for “The Next Big Thing” blog meme, wherein I blather about what I’m working on and I tag a few folks to do the same. I met Vince at the Wellspring Writer’s Workshop a few years ago, and when he asked me to do this I jumped at the chance. Without further ado, here’s my Next Big Thing.

 

1. What is the title of your book?

This May Go On Your Permanent Record.

2. Where did the idea come from for the book?

A few years ago, a coworker of mine told me a about a guy her son knew. He attended Webster University in St. Louis, and apparently at this university, if they don’t have the degree you want they’ll build a program for you. Her son knew someone whose major was World Domination. After my initial question–is that a Bachelor of Arts or a Bachelor of Science?–my wheels started to turn. What would a program like that look like? What if it wasn’t just a program but a whole school? I wrote a few short stories then settled down to write a book set in high school.

3. What genre does your book fall under?

Contemporary Young Adult. I really want to throw “fantasy” in there, too, but I have to admit that might be a stretch.

4. Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

I have no idea, probably because while I have pictures of my characters in my head, I don’t clip out pictures for inspiration. Unknown actors, most likely. Someone like Jennifer Lawrence after she did Winter’s Heart.

5. What is a one-sentence synopsis of the book?

A girl who can’t lie gets sentenced to a school for world domination.

6. Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

Represented by an agency, fingers crossed.

7. How long did it take you to write the first draft of the manuscript?

Four-and-a-half months, which is a land-speed record for me.

8. What other books would you compare this story to in your genre?

The closest would be I’d Tell You That I Love You But Then I’d Have to Kill You by Ali Larter. Sort of.

9. Who or what inspired you to write this book?

My coworker who gave me the original idea and the folks who read the short story and said, “hey, this should be a novel.”

10. What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

Sally is a freshman in high school dealing with a drunk mother, a mysterious benefactor, and an arch nemesis.  Not to mention a crush on a cute boy in her class. She’s got a lot on her plate.

Include the link of who tagged you and an explanation for the people you have tagged.

Vince Jorgersen tagged me. He’s a damn fine writer, fun to be around, and a good human being. You can read about his satirical novel here.


I’ll tag my fellow All Rights Reserved peeps–Elizabeth Shack, Gary Kloster, and Jaleigh Johnson, if only to force them to toot their own horns.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

