ALS Ice Bucket Challenge

This has been the week of Jaleigh recovering from Gen Con, watching celebrity Ice Bucket Challenge videos and procrastinating on the WIP.

Okay, that’s not the whole story.

I’ve been thinking a lot about a friend who died of ALS back in December.  The celebrity videos are fun to watch, and awareness is through the roof, which is wonderful, but…this is a truly horrifying disease, and I still can’t believe how it took someone so young and vibrant and slowly stole the life from him.  I considered doing a video for my friend, but there are a lot of mixed-up emotions and grief wrapped up in all of this for me, and besides that I realized I can’t compete with the awesomeness of videos like the one Benedict Cumberbatch did, or Tom Hiddleston, or Neil Gaiman, so I’m not going to make the attempt or challenge anyone else, but I will donate in memory of my friend.  I think he would have enjoyed the Cumberbatch video best.

And I know there are so many wonderful and worthy charities and causes out there that need help and attention–this one just happens to be very personal to me.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

