The Beauty of Small Goals

Last week, I got more writing done than in any week in the past couple months. That’s still far below my usual, but considering how busy last week was compared to weeks before, I’ll take it. Yeah, it was a 3-day weekend, but I didn’t spend a lot of time on the weekend writing. (I spent a lot of time on the weekend working.)

I credit my small goals. Telling myself that I have to put in 5 minutes means that sometimes I struggle through 5 and quit with relief, but more often that I put in 10 or 15. Or 30. Saying I have to work for 30 minutes means writing for an hour or more. Getting started is the hardest part.

The next hardest part is often stopping in time to go to work or to bed. Alas.

Leave a comment

Filed under writing

Leave a Reply

