Back to basics

April was my worst month in years, writing-time wise. My job has been needing a lot of time and energy. May was better than April–but I still didn’t get a lot done. The worst part is that I started to get out of the habit of writing–even when I had some time, and a little energy, sitting down to write was not at the top of my mind.

So last week I set up a back to basics plan to get that habit back: Every morning, writing is the first thing I do when I get up. Every evening (except Fri/Sat), I write immediately after dinner, or as soon as I get home if I have an event after work. Writing in the morning has not worked well for me in the recent past, but this seemed to be a good time to try it again.

Since it’s back to basics, any writing tasks count (even submissions, but not critiques), and I only have to do 5 minutes.

It worked well last week, but I was motivated by a deadline to get a short story to my crit group. This week I have no deadlines, just some things I need to make progress on. The first day and a half has gone well (I ran out of time to make lunch today because I was working on my book), so I’m hopeful.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

