Beach reads

Going off of Kelly’s recent post about certain books fitting with certain seasons, I’ve been thinking about beach reads lately, or just summer reading in general.  I have a little time off right now before I’m set to do revisions on my next book, so I’ve been taking the opportunity to put the house back into shape, get some yard work done, and yes, read some books.

But now that I don’t have as much time to read as I used to, figuring out what book I should pick up has become a lot harder.  I think that’s also why it’s difficult for me to review some of the books I read.  So much of my opinion of the book depends on what mood I’m in or what’s going on around me.  If I can’t concentrate on a dense literary text because I’m distracted watching the starlings maul my suet feeder when CLEARLY it’s meant for the woodpeckers and who do they think they are, the little rat birds…ahem…then my reading experience is going to suffer, and that’s not the author’s fault.  (It’s obviously the starlings’).  So I grab something lighter, and I’m usually content.

That’s what a beach read is for me.  Something short that will also forgive me the distraction of the back yard bird feeders or the rabbits and squirrels running around, (or the ocean, if you’re lucky enough to be reading on an actual beach),  and still expertly pull me back into the story whenever I want. Thankfully, there’s a book for every mood and season.  It’s just a matter of finding the right one for me at the right time.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

