Preparing for March Madness

Or as I like to think of it: OH MY GOD MY BOOK IS COMING OUT IN A MONTH AND I’M NOT READY AND THERE’S SO MUCH TO DO AND BREATHE BREATHE BREATHE BREATHE.

Ahem.

Fortunately, several lovely individuals have been helping me deal with these occasional freak outs by posting advance reviews of my book.  Like Read, Write, Reflect.  And Colby Sharp’s 10 Minute Review.

My editor also helpfully sent me the final, hardcover version of my book so I could hold it in my hands and have that spine-tingling moment of pure joy that happens when something you have worked so hard and so long for finally comes to be.

But probably the most helpful thing happened over a week ago when I visited with students who had gotten advance copies of the book to read.  They gave me one copy back and wrote on it everything they loved about the story.  Pages filled with writing, so many good thoughts.  They marked their favorite parts in the book, drew their own dragonfly pictures, and wrote notes that left me feeling so humbled and grateful that I can’t adequately explain it.

Breathe.  Breathe.  Breathe.  It’s going to be a good month.  I want to remember everything about it.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Preparing for March Madness

  1. Jaleigh Johnson

    Thank you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

