Stopping in the Middle

Keeping on with the advice theme, stopping in the middle is one that sounds good, but I’ve never been able to implement it. Except accidentally, when I run out of time, which is all too frequent.

It doesn’t seem to help, even though it should. I think it’s because I have a bad memory. So I forget that I was writing a cool scene yesterday, and I’m not any more motivated to write than usual. Or I forget what was supposed to happen in the scene, unless I leave myself really detailed notes, and at that point I might as well just keep writing.

Usually, though, if I’ve got a lot of momentum going–I keep writing. I’d rather finish the scene than risk losing the momentum and not getting it back the next day.

Of course, I skip all the sword fights in the first draft anyway, so what do I know.

Leave a comment

Filed under writing

Leave a Reply

