Full circle

I’ve been going through a lot of old photos lately while putting together a presentation for my upcoming school visits for THE MARK OF THE DRAGONFLY.  It’s going to take time, but it’s been an interesting experience already.  Heck, reliving my hairdo throughout the 90s has been worth a chuckle or two.  Fireball red, really?  Why did I ever think that was a good idea?

One picture in particular caught my attention.  It’s from my first  trip to Gen Con, back in 1995.  I was 16 years old, attending my first  author signing at a convention.  My brother snapped the picture while Ed Greenwood signed my copy of REALMS OF VALOR.  It’s not a great picture.  You can really only see the back of my head and Ed’s beard, but oh, the feelings that picture brought up, especially when you consider that 13 years later we’d be doing an author signing together at the same convention.  I have pictures of that too, which I think will make nice bookends for the presentation.  That 16-year-old kid in that first picture had no idea where she was going, but the place she ended up was pretty great.

And to answer the obvious question, “why don’t I post the photos?”  It’s not what you’re thinking. It’s not the hair.  Truth is, I just don’t have my new scanner hooked up yet, which again proves that I still have a lot of stuff to work on and figure out.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

