Heartland Fall Forum

I was at the Heartland Fall Forum this weekend in Rosemont for their ‘moveable feast’ of authors on Friday night.  I’d never done an event like this before, and I was understandably nervous, but I ended up having a great time.  The basic idea is that the authors move from table to table to chat with booksellers about their recent or upcoming titles.

I was paired with Lauren Grodstein, author of The Explanation for Everything, which is available now.  Listening to Lauren’s description of her book–by the end of the event I think we pretty much had each other’s pitches memorized–I was curious.  And lucky enough to snag a copy in the tote bag of goodies they gave me at the end of the night.  Side note: for me as a reader, that might be the single greatest thing about these events, the fact that people just hand you books, or bags stuffed with books, and they’re like, “here you go, enjoy!”  And I’m all, gahhhhh this is awesome where have you been all my life books books books!!

Sorry, getting distracted here.

So, Lauren’s book poses an intriguing question: what happens when a biology professor and committed evolutionist agrees (however reluctantly) to study intelligent design with a student?  The answer, according to Lauren, isn’t what you’d expect, and that’s part of what sparked my interest.

I haven’t started the book yet, but it’s now at the top of my to-be-read pile.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

