The obligatory Game of Thrones post

Sooner or later a fantasy author is going to talk about Game of Thrones. Dear reader, today is that day.

Unless you’ve been living in solitary confinement, you know that George R. R. Martin’s wildly popular epic fantasy Song of Ice and Fire series–the first book of which is called Game of Thrones–has been made into an HBO series.  The series was wildly popular before the first frame of the show had been filmed in circles that read epic fantasy. That’s a relatively small circle. Then the HBO series made it Cool to Like Fantasy, and now I see a suit-and-tie twenty-somethings reading the series while riding the morning train. Epic Fantasy is trendy.

(We can argue that it’s been trendy since Harry Potter, or it that it had its heyday in the 1980’s, but that’s a discussion for another time).

I read GoT several years ago when I was on an epic fantasy kick and gobbled up Jordan, Feist, Goodkind, as well as Martin. I got a few books in before I burned out on epic fantasy in general. I’ve recently gotten turned on to the epics again–thanks, Beaulieu and Weeks–and so I was thinking about picking it up again. I decided watch the series instead of reading the books, mostly because it’s something Ken and I can do together. So far the series is really brilliant, and while I want to keep watching, it makes me want to read the books more. Which means I’ll be one of those trendy people on the train reading Game of Thrones. Except my book will have the older cover, and the spine will be broken, and it’ll be like getting reacquainted with an old friend.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

