Haunted by the book I can’t read

My brother recently bought Neil Gaiman’s new book, The Ocean at the End of the Lane.  We were both really excited for this to come out, and my brother tore through it in a night, then loaned it to me.

I haven’t been able to get much past the part with the kitten and the guy in the car–oh, and the coins.  To explain would be to spoil, but if you’ve read it, you know what I’m talking about.

It’s not that those parts really disturbed me (well okay, definitely the kitten), but the problem is three things.  First, I wasn’t expecting the book to be so creepy in parts.  Second, I just moved into a new house, and I’m still getting used to the place and its quirks, like the fact that there’s an old incinerator in the back of the basement, a place I’ve nicknamed the crematorium.  Probably shouldn’t have done that.  I’m working through my issues with living in an older house, but adding the Neil Gaiman book on top of that isn’t helping.  Third, I like to read at night before I go to sleep.  Now, combine a spooky book, an unfamiliar house, the crematorium thing, and Jaleigh reading right before she goes to sleep at night.

Yeah, you see the problem.  I’m having these insane nightmares.  So I’ve stopped reading the book for now.  I’m going to pick it up again, probably read it only in daylight hours, and thankfully it’s not that long, so the nightmare thing won’t last forever.  But I mean all this as a huge compliment to Neil Gaiman for crafting such an affecting book.  I WANT to read it so much, and yet it scares the heck out of me in a lot of ways.  That’s some serious writing chops.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

