All tied up

So the secret project I’ve been working on is a gaming tie-in. Other than a very brief foray into fan fiction (which I didn’t like writing because no matter how I wrote it, I knew in my heart that whatever I wanted the characters to do was really what the actual author wanted the characters to do, and so my heart wasn’t in it) I’ve never written in someone else’s world. 

It’s … unusual. 

I like writing with constraints. Give me a topic (a time-travel agency! Magical clothing! Ghosts!) and I can write. Being given a specific topic opens up my creativity. However, writing in a fully realized world that I didn’t have a hand in creating is daunting. I find that I’m thinking “am I doing this right? Or am I completely fucking this up?” way, way more than usual. I’m about 3/4 of the way through the story. It’s starting to write itself, which is a really great place to be. 

When the going gets tough, the tough get writing. 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

