I’m back!

Excuse me while I clear the dust off my corner of the blog.

Let’s see, wow, the past few months have been interesting–and I mean that in good and bad ways.  I’ve gone from incredible writing-related high points, ones that involved much squeeing and shouting and oh-my-god-this-can’t-be-happening-to-me-ing…to really dismal times of trying to get through one of the worst tax seasons ever and learning how to handle being a caregiver at the same time.  Stress management has become something I pay more attention to than I ever have before in my life.

I’m going to dwell mostly on the good stuff, though, because I have things I’ve been dying to talk about, and because there are other things I’m just not able to talk about on the blog.  I don’t have the mental fortitude for it right now, and more importantly, much of the information isn’t mine to share.  Suffice to say, I have reason to feel very optimistic about the future, and while I won’t say the bad stuff is over, because I don’t want to tempt the universe, I will say that I am hopeful.

But, on to the good stuff.  You know how people say that in publishing, you can never get in a hurry?  You finally land an agent, and you come down from that euphoria to realize it’s only the beginning of a long process.  You still have to *fingers crossed* sell the book, edit and revise and edit and revise some more, and even after that, your book might not come out for a long time.  Publishing moves at a glacial pace–it’s just something you have to learn to deal with as you navigate the business side of writing.  You’ve heard all this, yes?  Well, all of this is absolutely true 99% of the time.

But occasionally, you encounter the other 1%.

My amazing agent, Sara Megibow, went on submission with my book not too long after we finished ringing in 2013.  Beyond the occasional update, I was prepared not to hear any news until tax season was winding down.  So I was shocked when an email landed in my inbox just days later.  We had an offer.

After that, everything turned into a whirlwind, but when the excitement finally died down, I’d signed a tw0 book deal with Delacorte Press for The Mark of the Dragonfly.  Suddenly, I had an agent and an editor, both of whom expressed such excitement and love for the book–I can’t adequately explain how that makes me feel, but I will say that it helped get me through the hard times over the next couple months, and that’s no small thing.

So, it’s good to be back, and I’m excited to see where the publishing roller coaster ride takes me next.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “I’m back!

  1. Welcome back! We tried to keep the cobwebs away at least, but the dust was just too much.

  2. Jaleigh Johnson

    Thanks! It’s good to be back.

Leave a Reply

