The Secretary Hat

I spent a long time researching short story markets the other day. Some day I will get this down to a nice streamlined process. For the places I submit often, it doesn’t take long to remind myself of their requirements, but for markets that are new to me it can be kind of a pain.

RTF, DOC, or plain text pasted into an email? For that matter, email, web form (where did I put my password?), or the post office (where did I put my printer)? Standard header, or all identifying information stripped? Bio? Did I check and recheck the maximum (or minimum) length limit, issue theme, the reading period, whether they’re open at all or temporarily closed to catch up on all the slush?

It’s almost enough to make me want to query agents instead. (1, 3, 5, 10 page synopsis? One chapter or three chapters or no chapters? Circling widdershins or deosil for the demon-summoning?)

The glamour never ends.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

