Writing (related) apps for the iPad

Recently, someone on a writing forum I frequent wanted suggestions for iPad apps. Here’s my list of what I use:

Documents to Go – It was on my Palm eons ago, and it’s still useful. Opens .doc, .docx, PDF, and various other things (not .rtf). Syncing with Dropbox requires more money, but I like the way it syncs files on my computer – they don’t all have to be in a special folder. (Seriously, I cannot say enough good things about that feature. I like to keep my files organized. I don’t like having to put things in special sync folders and mess up my file organization.) I don’t use this as much as I used to before I started using Scrivener.

Docs ^2 – A Word editor with track changes. It opens files from Dropbox, but it doesn’t sync them–so you can’t get to them if you’re offline. You can also add files directly to the app. I love it for critting because I can now crit on the couch instead of standing at my computer.

PlainText – I sync Scrivener files to this, by telling Scrivener to sync to an external folder that happens to be in my dropbox/plaintext folder. This is the app I use most frequently for writing these days, since once I return to my computer at home, my changes are magically there. It is, as you might guess, a plain text editor, which does have some drawbacks.

(Scrivener says their iOS app will be out this year. I’ve seen a screenshot, and it looks great.)

TaskPaper – This is a to do list app, and I’ve recently started using it for that at work, but it’s also nifty for outlining (which I’ll be talking about tomorrow on my personal blog). It’s pricey, but both the Mac app and the iOS app seem to be frequently on sale or in bundles.

DEVONthink or Evernote – for storing notes, web pages, whatever. I keep all my blog posts and research notes in DEVONthink.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

