Current project meme

Kelly gave us homework. I do everything she tells me to, so:

1. What is the title of your book?

Out of Time

2. Where did the idea come from for the book?

I think it started when I was wondering what you do if you live in a world where nearly everyone has magic and an evil sorcerer steals yours. Also, huge, old university libraries.

3. What genre does your book fall under?

The best one–secondary world fantasy.

4. Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

Good ones. Seriously, I don’t watch much tv or see many movies, and I rarely recognize an actor in a new role.

5. What is a one-sentence synopsis of the book?

While I enjoy writing blurb type things, the short summary I have right now is to help me write it, rather than market it, and I don’t want to share. Ask again next year.

6. Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

With luck, represented by an agency.

7. How long did it take you to write the first draft of the manuscript?

About 4.5 months so far. I’ve probably got another 4-6 weeks to go. I have a bad habit of taking long breaks to work on short stories. *looks innocently at this week’s plan*

8. What other books would you compare this story to in your genre?

Have to admit I haven’t done the research on that yet. I’m good at pointing out how it’s different from other books. No quests or enigmatic old wizards who could solve a lot of problems if they’d just spit out everything they know.

9. Who or what inspired you to write this book?

For me that’s the same as question 2.

10. What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

Magical laboratories! Romance! Secrets! Complicated spells that go wrong in the worst way!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Current project meme

  1. Pingback: Roundup, minus raccoon | Elizabeth Shack

Leave a Reply

