Spring 2013

A few weeks back I filed my intent to graduate from U of I Springfield’s online English program in the spring of 2013, and this past week, I registered for my final class, Readings in the History of Philosophy.  I have to tell you, I was almost as excited to do that as I was to talk about Spider and Stone’s release.  The end is finally in sight.

I started thinking seriously about going back to school when I got the contract and advance for my first novel.  Overall, it’s been a great experience, getting to study literature, non-fiction writing, technical writing, and I even got to take a summer course of extensive study and analysis of Lord of the Rings.  I mean, how cool is that?

But it’s also been a huge time commitment, and there were many nights when I had to spend hours working on papers when what I really wanted to be doing was outlining and writing the next novel or short story banging around in my head.  So as much as I’m going to miss discovering a new author, peer-reviewing a student memoir, or having in-depth discussions with strangers about how Denethor was depicted in the movie version of Return of the King, I’ll be glad to have my extra writing time back.

And I’ve already told my family I want a graduation party.  With presents.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Spring 2013

  1. Congrats! You definitely deserve a party.

Leave a Reply

