That song I can’t get out of my head

Technically, it’s the ideas for songs I can’t get out of my head.  A few weeks back, I mentioned that I was stewing over my next project–tentatively a road trip book with magic.  Well, the idea has officially blown up into the beginnings of an outline and character bios and world-building notes and yes I’m going to finish the steampunk book first I swear.  Breathe.  Okay, but if I’m going to have a road trip book…you see where this is going, don’t you?  I need music.  My characters need music.  But oh my, a road trip playlist.  Where to begin?  What are the songs that speak to these characters?  What are the tunes they belt out when  they’re alone in the car and no one is around to judge how bad their singing is?

Those are the questions bouncing around in my head right now.  I have a feeling I need to get to know these girls (yep, we’re dealing with two girls here) a bit better before I can answer them, but still, it’s a tantalizing subject for my brain.  I have strong memories of road trips with my family when I was a kid, traveling through the hills of Kentucky and Tennessee, seeing glimpses of the ocean in Florida, signs for all the roadside attractions, great stuff.  I want music for that kind of journey, and for what the characters are feeling and going through.  Tantalizing, I tell you.

So, what about you?  What songs speak to you when you’re on the road?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

