40

It was my birthday this week. Guess what I got?

Rejections!

Sigh. That just feels obnoxiously scripted y’know?

They did hit me a bit harder than usual though. Not because they came on my birthday– well, not exactly. See, when I started writing around seven years ago, I had this vague goal of having a book out by forty. And, well, no book as yet.

Thing is, goals like that are stupid. Since I’m not self-publishing, I don’t have enough control over the process for that goal to be useful. A better one would have been something like– write ten books by 4o.  That’s an achievable, useful goal that isn’t tied to a lot of things outside of my control. Instead of the one I chose when I had no idea how complicated this whole writing thing was.

Anyway, I recovered fairly quickly. I have to say, I’m just not very good at wallowing in my angst. Whenever I try I end up getting bored and wandering off into plot ideas. So instead, I guess I’ll try to figure out a goal for fifty.

Ten books?

Screw it, why not thirty? After a decade, I’ll probably be up for another wallow.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “40

  1. Elizabeth

    Happy birthday week! At 30 books, even if you don’t make it, at least you’ll have been keeping busy.

  2. Jaleigh Johnson

    Happy belated birthday! And I would read those 30 books. 🙂

  3. Ditto the happy birthdays!

Leave a Reply

