Swimming

Jaleigh’s post yesterday about the importance of exercise for writers reminded me of one of my recent trips to the swimming pool.

First, let me say that I love walking and jogging. I put music on, look at yards or prairie, let my mind drift, and see what story ideas pop into my head. Swimming, when I first started it after a running injury, was a lot less interesting. Not only is there no scenery (unless black lines are your thing), there’s no music (underwater mp3 players are expensive). Also, it took me a long time to be able to swim for half an hour or so without stopping, and stopping broke the semi-trance.

But once I got my swimming stamina, I was able to think less about swimming and more about…whatever. Often it’s stories, sometimes it’s my plans for the day. One trip recently gave me the entire first scene of a short story that doubles as a chunk of my 2013 novel. Not bad for 20 minutes.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Swimming

  1. I recently plotted most of a short story while taking a shower. Water must help with the thinking. Which means hot tubs should count as business expenses. Right Jaleigh?

Leave a Reply

