Busyness

I hear there was recently some article about the cult of busyness, but I haven’t had time to read it.

Mr. Busy

I’ve been very busy lately. All with good stuff, things I want to do, but. Being so busy that I don’t have time to relax, or have the time or focus to write, is not productive. I’ve been trying to figure out what to cut out of my life. Unfortunately I’m failing miserably.

Some things are non-negotiable. Sleep. Job. Showers. Exercise. Reading. Calling my parents. Talking to my husband every once in a while so he doesn’t forget who I am.

Some things are negotiable. Cleaning the house, for one. Is there an easier way to get more writing time than to not clean? Gardening is another thing that I spend a lot of time on. Next year I’m not going to bother to plant the back garden (too shady), and I’m not going to spruce up the front one (it needs a nicer fence and frame) anytime soon. Third, online classes on writing or other topics. Ok, there I admit I’m not really cutting back. But I didn’t take the midterm for the free sociology class I’m taking, and I might not bother with the final, either. The readings are educational enough for my purposes.

Also, some of the non-negotiable items take up more time than they really need. For example, I have 9 exercise slots in my calendar. That’s every morning, plus two evenings for tennis. Plus I bike to work up to four times a week. And to the pool on the two days I swim. Cutting back would not adversely affect my health. We didn’t sign up for tennis classes this month, opting to do the walk-in double instead. Last week I went once, on Monday, when I’d had the day off work. On Wednesday, I sat on my deck, did a critique, read some fiction. It was fantastic to have a slow evening. I’m tempted to never sign up for tennis classes again, and stick to the walk-in workouts so I have the flexibility to skip when I need the time for something else.

I suppose that’s a start.

What keeps you busy?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

