Hello from Kansas!

Hello from the Science Fiction & Fantasy Novel Writers Workshop at the Center for the Study of Science Fiction at the University of Kansas.

Presumably by the time you’re reading this, I’ve arrived safely after a lovely drive across Missouri and spent yesterday doing some enjoyable and productive workshopping. But I’m writing this on Saturday night, because internet in the dorm here costs money, and I figured that would be a great excuse to not have it and therefore be even more productive.

This is a two-week workshop for unfinished novels–they say it works best if you have less than half the book done. At the time I applied, I had three and a third chapters. I sent four to be critiqued here. I’m now writing chapter seven. Out of, oh, forty or so (they’re short). And of course I’ve been making changes to the outline since I shipped it off a month ago.

Workshopping an unfinished book intrigued me, because I’d like to get to a point where I do more of the work up front and cut down on my revision time/number of drafts. (I used to be a pantser, now I’m a plotter.) I’m looking forward to fixing my book by moving stuff around on the outline instead of trying to rewrite huge swaths of scenes.

The best part is, I get to spend two whole weeks talking about writing with other writers! Perfect summer vacation. See you in mid-July.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

