Always in need of books

Whenever I ask my brother, an insane book-devourer, for reading recommendations, the conversation inevitably goes something like this:

Me: I need a light, feel-good, happy-ending, romancy kind of book.  Can you recommend something Jane Austiny?
Jeff: War and Peace?
Me: Something light.
Jeff: Les Miserables?
Me: Did you understand the criteria?
Jeff: Yes.
Me: Because you’re just naming books that you love.
Jeff: Yes, and you should totally read them.
Me: Never mind.

I recently finished reading Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking, by Susan Cain.  Highly recommended reading for introverts (or extroverts, come to think of it).  I’ve totally done the hiding in the bathroom stall thing before a signing.  Not the Baileys, though—that usually comes after.

Next on the reading list, I decided if not romance, I at least need a dose of humor.  So I picked up the first four chapters of John Scalzi’s Redshirts free on Nook to try it out, although everyone and their brother is recommending it on Twitter, so I’m pretty sure I’ll be buying the rest.  I also picked up Jenny Lawson’s (in her words, “mostly true”) memoir, Let’s Pretend This Never Happened, because I think her blog is absolutely hilarious, and I love rambling parentheticals too.  Sooo much.

Oh, and if you have any light, romancy, humorous, happy-ending types of books to recommend to me (that are not War and Peace or Les Miserables) let me know.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Always in need of books

  1. Jaleigh Johnson

    When I first read this comment, I thought it was some bizarre piece of spam, so obviously I need to read more. Or I’m sleep-deprived. Either way, thanks for the recommendation!

  2. At the WisCon romance panel (which I went to because of YOU), they went on and on about Jenny Crusie, who apparently specializes in funny romance. Being that she’s a bestseller, you’ve probably already heard of her, but that’s all I’ve got…

    • Jaleigh Johnson

      I’ve heard of her, but I haven’t read any of her stuff. I’ll check it out. And I know you’re going to blame me every time you end up at a romance panel, but dude, it’s not my fault you’re good with the sex scenes.

  3. Light, romancy, and humorous…earlier this year, I read Unveiled by Courtney Milan. It was romancy and humorous, but I’m not sure how light.
    I want to read Redshirts, but I’m making myself read all the Hugo nominees first. At least that’s the plan.

    • Jaleigh Johnson

      I’ve heard good things about Courtney Milan. I could check out the Hugo nominees too. I need stuff to read for my trip.

Leave a Reply

