Another reason to write every day

Back in January, I found a cool visualization about how much time NaNoWriMo participants spent writing. I really liked the graphic for time per day – circles in a calendar.

I’m not sure if I’ve posted about my time tracking project on this blog, but in short: I’ve been writing (off and on) a program to analyze my writing time. I decided to work that visualization into it. This shows how many words I’ve written each day this year (the size of the circles is determined by a logarithmic scale):

Words per day

There’s just one problem: See those blank days, when I didn’t write any new words? They aren’t in the right places. My code is buggy. I do know what’s wrong with it, but I’m not looking forward to fixing it. I’m not sure how to do so elegantly.

So here’s some advice: Write every day. It makes programming visualizations about your writing much easier.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment